Sydney Cup

The Sydney Cup is an Australian Group 1 handicap thoroughbred race run by the Australian Turf Club for 3 year olds and over. The race is held during the ATC Autumn Carnival in April at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

The inaugural running of the race was 1 May 1862 as part of the Metropolitan Autumn Meeting at Randwick.

The prize money has been increased to $A1,000,000 in 2014 which sees the Sydney Cup become the autumn championship in the 2 mile handicap category.

2016 Sydney Cup – Date

The 2016 Sydney Cup will be held on Saturday the 8th of April.

Sydney Cup Track And Distance

The 2016 Sydney Cup is held at Royal Randwick Race Course and run over a distance of 3200 metres.

Randwick Race Course image

Past 10 Winners

2015Grand Marshal
2014The Offer
2011Stand To Gain
2009Ista Kareem
2008No Wine No Song

2016 Sydney Cup Big Bets

Bet Amount
Bet Type
Horse No.
Horse Name
$1000to WinNo.1Who Shot Thebarman
$2000to WinNo.3Grand Marshal
$3000to WinNo.2Almoonqith
$4000to WinNo.2Almoonqith
$1500to WinNo.1Who Shot Thebarman
$1500to WinNo.4Libran
$1000to WinNo.4Libran